Janine Smith MNZM

REANNZ warmly welcomes the appointment of Janine Smith as the new Chair and a Director of its Board.
The appointment was announced today by the Minister of Research, Science and Innovation the Hon. Dr Megan Woods, and takes effect immediately.

Acting Chair Ross Peat says, “The Board and team congratulate Janine on her appointment and welcome the extensive knowledge and expertise she brings.”

Janine has been a company director for over 20 years.  She is the Executive Director and Principal of The Boardroom Practice; the current Chair of AsureQuality; the independent member on Fonterra’s Governance Development Committee; a member of AUT’s Council; President of London Business School Auckland chapter and a director of several private companies.

Her experience includes being a director in public listed and Crown-owned companies, and in the arts, education and telecommunications sectors in New Zealand and overseas.

Janine was acknowledged in the 2015 New Year’s Honours List, receiving a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit (MNZM) for services to corporate governance.

This completes the REANNZ Board following the appointment of three new members last month: Sara Brownlie, Dr Judith Johnston and David Skinner who joined Emeritus Professor Steve Weaver. Ross Peat, who has been acting Chair, reverts to his previous position of Deputy Chair following Ms Smith’s commencement.

The Minister’s release is available at https://www.beehive.govt.nz/release/reannz-board-chair-announced.